Skip to content

Kale, Celery & Carrot Juice

Juicing was a part of my weekday routine about 3 months ago; I would get up and make my green juice or smoothie every morning to start off my day. There was always bunches of kale, bags of carrots and loads of apples in my fridge and a few other random items that I would decided to throw in the juicer if the mood struck. Seeing as how life and work tend to get in the way of healthy habits , juicing slipped out of my daily routine and the juicer crept back into my cabinet and stayed there. With my 2014 resolution to get back into my kitchen more, the juicer has made a triumphant return, and is now running at 8am every morning.

This is pretty much my standard juice recipe because of the large amounts of kale and celery, it has a solid base of greens and then builds on the sweetness from there. I have been known to throw in a large amount of ginger or an orange, even more so when I am feeling like I am on the verge of being sick. I also thing using the base of the kale and celery would be a good start to a smoothie, so you can remove some of the texture you would get if they were to be blended. The possibilities for variation are endless with juice, but always try to start with a leafy green, as they contain so many great things that are absorbed easier in liquid form (on an empty stomach if possible).

 Juicegreen1 juicegreen2

Kale, Celery & Carrot Juice

1 bunch of kale, stems left on
2 large celery stalks
3 large carrots
1 green apple
1″ piece of ginger, peeled
1/2 lemon, peeled

Juice in the order listed above, and enjoy!

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?