Skip to content

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Thanksgiving is just around the corner – and can you believe we have never had a Mashed Potato Face Off? In preparation for your Thanksgiving dinner we thought it would be nice to bring to you 2 unique mashed potato recipes that don’t require gravy in order to taste good.

My mashed sweet potatoes are actually more on the savory side being flavored with rosemary and truffle oil. As a child, I was never a fan of sweet potatoes or yams because they were made with sweet ingredients like brown sugar or orange juice. As I got older and prepared my own sweet potatoes I quickly learned that they don’t actually have to be made sweet just because their name suggests that. Try out this quick recipe for your Vegan Thanksgiving dinner this year.

RosemaryMashed Sweet Potatoes
4 large sweet potatoes
2 sprigs of rosemary, approximately 4 tablespoons, finely chopped
3 tablespoons of truffle oil

  1. Boil a large pot of water.
  2. Peel potatoes and dice into 1 inch cubes. place in boiling water for approximately 20 minutes until cooked through. Strain and place into mixing bowl.
  3. Add truffle oil, chopped rosemary, salt and pepper.
  4. Turn mixer on medium/low and allow ingredients to combine. I recommend running the mixer approximately 2 minutes to allow all potatoes to break up and combine with the truffle and rosemary.

If you are like me and love truffle oil. serve potatoes with a little extra drizzle of truffle oil on top, yum!

Vegan Mashed Sweet Potatoes

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ani #

    I love mashed sweet potatoes!! Leftovers are great for breakfast too haha I know weird but tasty.

    November 21, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mashed Potato Face Off | Fried Tofu

What are your thoughts?