Skip to content

Vegan Cakeballs

I volunteered to bake for my company’s Bake Sale a week ago. You may have seen that Morgan wrote a little bit about this Breast Cancer Bake Sale in her Lemon Pound Cake post.  I wanted to make something Vegan , but didn’t want to make my banana bread again, so I was trying to think of something new that was also Vegan and easy to sell in individual pieces. I looked up a few Cakeball recipes (these were perfect to sell individually) and decided to Veganize them.

No one at my office knew these were Vegan, but I sure got alot of compliments on them. I decided to take the easy route and use Duncan Hines Golden Cake Mix and Chocolate Frosting, both of which are accidentally Vegan. This allowed me to make more cakeballs because the prep work was easy – we needed quantity for the sale.  I also made a second batch of Red Velvet Cake with Vanilla Frosting.

I hope you enjoy these decadent treats!

Vegan Cakeballs

1 Vegan Cake (or 1 package of Vegan Cake Mix)
1 container Frosting (or 1 batch of your favorite homemade frosting)
1-2 bags of Vegan Chocolate Chips

  1. Bake cake in a 9×13 pan according to directions. Allow cake to cool completely.
  2. Crumble cake into a large bowl and add 1.5 Cups of frosting.
  3. Combine the cake with the frosting to form a gooey consistency.
  4. Refrigerate the cake mixture for about 30 minutes (the mixture will be easier to work with this way).
  5. While cake is in the fridge, heat the vegan chocolate chips in a double boiler on the stove.  Be careful not to overheat it.
  6. Remove cake mixture from fridge and form into 1 inch round balls.
    Note:  If the cakeballs are too mushy after handling them, place in freezer for about 15 minutes before dipping.
  7. Dip cakeballs into warm chocolate and place on wax or parchment paper lined plates and top with a sprinkle of your choice, or chopped nuts, or shredded coconut, etc.
  8. Place plates into freezer to set chocolate quicker.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mm looks delish! I’ll be making a gluten-free version of these tasty treats over the weekend! :)

    October 25, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Happy Halloween from Fried Tofu! | Fried Tofu

What are your thoughts?